Bean About Town (the blog)

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Michelle Obama Style: The Good, The Bad and The Painfully Ugly November 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — DJBean @ 3:41 pm

I’ve tried very hard to stay away from Michelle Obama, respecting her position as the First Lady of the United States (a country I love and respect veryvery much).  However, I’ve had enough. One more horridly matched belt and too-small-sweater and I might blow a gasket. SO- Here is my review of Michelle Obama Style in photos, the good, the bad, and the painfully ugly.

The Good- Michelle FINALLY looked like a First Lady at last night's first official state dinner. This Naeem Khan stunner is exactly what the fashion police ordered.

Good- First Lady Obama dressed appropriately in a slate suit and purple blouse while addressing The Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Despite the odd choice to belt this outfit, Obama can rock some yellow and shows off those gorgeously athletic legs.

Obama rocks sunny yellow again, looking cutsie tootsie in Italy. While I have a bit of a problem with how juvenile she looks, the outfit is undeniably adorable.

Never have I EVER said this before about ANYTHING Obama has worn... but I seriously covet this coat.

In a properly fitted argyle sweater, Obama pops in pastel purple. Unfortunately, this wraps up all the "good" pictures. I tried to keep it balanced, but Mrs. Obama made my quest for fairness practically impossible.

Now, onto The Bad:

The bad- First Ladies should know that mixing four shades of black is a fashion no-no. This hurt my eyes. Plus, what's with the turtleneck? Hiding a hickie or something?

I think I saw this skirt on sale for $2.99 at a truck stop once.

Funny... Obama bears a striking resemblance to my grandmother in this picture.... must be the hair...

Looking somewhat Bjork-like, Obama nearly floated away in this almost shapeless and very hurried Jason Woo frock.

Oh no, Mrs. Obama. I think I saw my grandmother wearing this Proenza Schouler mess once.

I couldn't decide if this should go into "The Bad" category or "The Painfully Ugly." Looks like I've got enough "Painfully Ugly" to go around.

Wrapping up "The Bad" are two pics of Michelle Obama borrowing her husband's clothes.

And now, the moment we’ve all been dreading…. The Painfully Ugly.

So let's go ahead and get this Isabel Toledo nightmare out of the way. Why Obama chose the color of newborn poop to wear to her husband's inauguration, I have no idea.

 

Oh... looks like infant poop is a White House favorite...

Since when is it okay to sport seizure inducing combinations of colors? *twitchtwitchtwitch hackhackhack*

Speaking of horrid color combos: Michelle's been raiding Grandma's closet again!!

No, this picture is not from halloween. However, just add a hood and Obama's pulling off the perfect costume for the Nazgul from The Lord of The Rings trilogy! ONE RING TO RULE THEM ALL!!!!

Obama premiers yet another piece from her halloween collection on The Tonight Show. The President will be arriving shortly dressed as Bam Bam.

Exclusively from the Shoes That Should Never Have Happened series:

'Nuff said. Really.

These shoe tragedies paired with a horrid sweater (CAN YOU BELIEVE OUR FIRST LADY IS DRESSING LIKE THIS?!) serve for an excellent segue into our next section.

Now, I’d like to move on to a serious issue facing the United States of America; Michelle Obama’s impressive collection of too-small sweaters.

Is she borrowing her daughters' clothes? Oh, and keep an eye on this hideous belt. You'll see it again.

Too small AND painful to behold.

Too-small sweater on the cover of Oprah Magazine. Houston, we have a belt problem. This circuitous monstrosity will reappear as well.

This is what Obama chose to wear to meet the British Prime Minister and his wife. J.Crew and all its 12-year-old fans called. They'd like their sense of fashion back.

Oh look! Michelle's meeting with her stylists!

In her meeting with Queen Elizabeth of England (one of my all-time favorite people), Obama was off to a good start. However, the too-small sweater strikes again!!

 And to end our foray into the fashion foibles of the First Lady, I’ll  conclude with a very special section:

A TOO-SMALL SWEATER OR ILL-FITTING DRESS SCRUNCHED UP IN A BELT DOES NOT A CUTE OUTFIT MAKE:

This is the LEAST offensive of the beltings.

WHY??? Plus, red and peach?? Oh no... here we go again!! *twitchtwitchtwitch hackhackhack*

I may barf.

This is seriously a WTF moment for me.

It looks like our First Lady of Fashion No-Nos moves between horridly underdressed, laughingly juvenile clothing to unflatteringly matronly eyesores. The gold dress from last night’s state dinner is the only home run I’ve ever seen Mrs. Obama hit on the field of fashion. Someone needs to teach the First Lady about happy mediums (or larges, if that’s what fits)! 

 

Stay tuned to Bean About Town (the blog)! for more snap, snark, and straight-up honesty. :)

 

21 Responses to “Michelle Obama Style: The Good, The Bad and The Painfully Ugly”

  1. Jeep Says:

    Umm… I know I think I saw a 6 year old with that last outfit… OMG.

  2. DJ Mini Says:

    And I stupidly labeled myself as you on my comment. I do apologize profusely! It’s is early yet for me *blush*

  3. DJ Mini Says:

    Thanks for speaking the truth!

  4. Andy Says:

    I like how most of the pictures seemed to fit into the “painfully ugly” category. Not that I counted or anything!

  5. Maureen J. Says:

    Love the post…I agree!! Sometimes her outfits are a hit…and then there are those terrible misses!!

  6. Maureen C. Dundon Says:

    Props to you for the teal-blue grandmother time-era connection. I actually researched this for an undergrad project. Let’s hold our breath though for the infamous ‘house dress’ coming to the WH. I’m planning on doing that myself. But not with teal blue heels. Mine will be patent leather red.

  7. Maureen C. Dundon Says:

    btw I would love to hear your 2 cents re: her corresponding hair styles. for example – do you find it odd that her ‘up do’ in the Khan dress is chosen instead of her usual ‘shoulder length’ kitchen domesticated look? AND (here’s a juicy question: do you think she’s avoiding ‘up do’s’ because it’s such a fav. look of S. Palin? I hear those two don’t play well together.

    • DJBean Says:

      I think that’s a great point, Maureen. I dunno if she’s avoiding the updo because of Palin, but I wouldn’t put it past her. I think she simply has a strong chin and a somewhat masculine face. Therefore, she wears her hair down in order to avoid accentuating such characteristics.

  8. WE THINK THAT YALL ARE WRONG ABOUT THIS STUFF BECUASE MICHELLE OBAMA IS NOT A UGLY WOMAN AND HER CLOTHES ARE PRETTY VERY PRETTY YALL MUST BE HATING ON MICHELLE OBAMA CLOTHES BECUASE YOU PROBABLY CAN’T AFFORD IT AND YALL KNOW THEY PRETTY WHAT YALL MUST BE RACES SHOULD I TELL THE POLICE YALL BEING PREJUDICE BECUASE YALL KNOW IF I TELL ON YALL NOW YOU KNOW YOU GOING TO JAIL AND PLUS ITS THE FIRST LADY NOW YOU KNOW YOU NEED TO STOP PLEASE THIS IS FOR YOUR SAKE NOT MINES I LIKE MICHELLE OBAMA WELL DARIUS DO AS BEING CUTE BUT ME AND TREASE WE LIKE HER AS A FRIEND BECUASE SHE IS A BEAUTIFUL LADY NOT ONE OF THOSE SLUTS YALL THINK SHE IS WELL I NEED TO STOP BUT LET ME TELL YALL THIS YALL NEED TOO TO THANX 4 READING

    • DJBean Says:

      Okay- I originally deleted this comment because the sheer idiocy hurt my brain. However, I reread it and decided that it was too good not to post.

      Dearest Trease, Ni, and Darius,
      I have decided to set the record straight on some of the accusations I have filtered through your nearly unintelligible, caps ridden, punctuation free comment. First, I tried to dissect this diplorably long run-on sentence into statements. Now, I will respond to each in their turn. Enjoy.

      “WE THINK THAT YALL ARE WRONG ABOUT THIS STUFF” —- Firstly, there’s only one of me. Secondly, “y’all” has an apostrophe in it.
      “BECUASE MICHELLE OBAMA IS NOT A UGLY WOMAN” —- Never did I say Michelle Obama is ugly. As a matter of fact, I complimented her beautiful athletic figure in the comments and was very kind about her horse face…. oh, shoot….
      “HER CLOTHES ARE PRETTY VERY PRETTY” — Pretty very pretty? So, like… almost very pretty? Sorta pretty in the very kind of way?
      “YALL MUST BE HATING ON MICHELLE OBAMA CLOTHES BECUASE YOU PROBABLY CAN’T AFFORD IT” —– Ooooh, so many comments. I do not hate Michelle Obama. Secondly, if I were to “hate ON” her, I would have to sit on top of her and hate someone else. Neither can get close enough to her to do that, nor do I hate ANYONE. (Side note: See this appropriate use of caps? Try that next time.) Secondly, Obama has publicly admitted that she shops at J. Crew, whose cheaply made yet overpriced wares I can definitely afford. Otherwise, I don’t have your hard-earned money in the form of tax dollars in my clothing budget. Actually, if you think about it, I bought her all those clothes, so I CAN afford it. (Good caps use again. Go me!)
      “AND YALL KNOW THEY PRETTY” —- You’re missing a verb… and the point of an opinion piece….
      “WHAT YALL MUST BE RACES SHOULD I TELL THE POLICE YALL BEING PREJUDICE BECUASE YALL KNOW IF I TELL ON YALL NOW YOU KNOW YOU GOING TO JAIL” —- Now, this is the gold, right here. Firstly, I am of only one race, therefore I am not many “races.” Assuming you meant to say “racist,” and “prejudiced,” I’ll continue. (I’m pretty good at this translation stuff! High five!) I never have been nor ever will be anywhere close to racist. I thoroughly enjoy the company of people from varying cultures and backgrounds. I challenge you to find a single racist comment anywhere on my blog. (Note: Since you don’t seem to know, comments that have to do with things like clothing and music that do not mention skin color or background in the slightest cannot be counted as racist comments. I’m not calling you an idiot because I assume you’re black. I’m calling you an idiot because you’re an idiot. I’d say the same to a white person… and have.) Moving on… racism and prejudice by themselves are not crimes. On the heels of another crime, they may exacerbate a sentence, but, by themselves, they are not punishable by law. That’s part of the first amendment of the United States Constitution. I suggest you read it. Oh… nevermind… too much punctuation for you.
      Lastly, this is a great example of the Obamites little tactic of “if you don’t like Obama, you’re racist.” Shove it, Obamites. I’m voting for Herman Cain who is twice as black as Barack.
      So, call the police. Have fun telling them how to find me and being arrested yourself for wasting police time.
      “AND PLUS ITS THE FIRST LADY NOW YOU KNOW YOU NEED TO STOP PLEASE THIS IS FOR YOUR SAKE NOT MINES ” — I mentioned at the very beginning of my post that I love and respect both the country and the position occupied by the Obamas. I wonder if you currently speak only kind words about George W. Bush….
      Oh, and “mine” can never be plural unless you’re speaking of underground incendiary devices. (Have fun looking up the word “incendiary.” Google will help.)
      “I LIKE MICHELLE OBAMA WELL DARIUS DO AS BEING CUTE BUT ME AND TREASE WE LIKE HER AS A FRIEND” —- Omg, this sentence is painful. I’m going to assume you meant to say, “I like Michelle Obama. My friend, Darius, likes her as well because he thinks she is cute. Trease and I are not interested in her sexually, as I implied with the word “cute” (which is not a sexual implication, normally), but we think she is a friend of ours.” Operating on this assumption, I’ll continue. You are more than welcome to like Michelle Obama. I never said you shouldn’t. I commented solely on her shameful fashion choices. I’m so glad Darius is hot for the first lady. Good for him. Lastly, I hate to break this to you, but (unless I am sorely mistaken) Michelle Obama has no idea who you are, much less does she call you a friend. Just because you admire someone doesn’t mean that person is your friend. Otherwise, I’d be cracking open a cold one with Joan of Arc, John Paul II, and the Queen of England right now. Reality check, darlings. Stop the creepy stalker stuff.
      “BECUASE SHE IS A BEAUTIFUL LADY NOT ONE OF THOSE SLUTS YALL THINK SHE IS ” —- I have NEVER implied ANYTHING about Michelle Obama’s sexual morality. Again, I challenge you to find any comment to that effect. Aaaaaand, there’s still only one of me.
      “WELL I NEED TO STOP BUT LET ME TELL YALL THIS YALL NEED TOO TO THANX 4 READING” —- Yes, you do need to stop… for the sake of your own dignity. OMG- I just fell out of my chair laughing at “TOO TO!!!” Not only is this completely botched syntax, but the “too” and “to” are inverted!!! LOL! I’m dying over here!!
      Thanks for reading? You’re most welcome. Your moronic comment is the most entertaining thing I’ve encountered today.

      That is all.

      • DJBean Says:

        Correction:
        I previously said, “Oh, and ‘mine’ can never be plural unless you’re speaking of underground incendiary devices.”
        “Mine” can also be plural in reference to underground rock quarries that middle-earthen dwarves call home. :)

        THAT is all.

      • DJBean Says:

        Oh! One more… “Each in its turn.: :)

      • As an American with an English degree, the comment left above physically hurts me. And by English, I do not mean white English, black English, green English, purple English, Spanglish or any other variation your idiocy would like to make up, but proper ENGLISH (i.e. the national language of the United States of America). I hope for your sake that you actually do know proper English, including punctuation and grammar, and you choose not to utilize your skills when commenting on one’s blog. If you do actually speak and write this way in the real world, may God have mercy on your professional soul. If there is a company in the world that hired you to work for them, I would like to know, so I will know to never do business with that company because I know now that I would not deal with someone competent. Thank you, and take some English classes.

  9. Bobbynorwich Says:

    She’s not fat, she just has a pear-shaped body and wears all the wrong clothing that accentuate — rather than mask — her figure flaws. She wears light colored or flashy patterns below the waist which makes her bottom-half look bigger and skinny tops with boob belts that make her top-half look smaller. Somebody needs to teach her about spectator dressing, i.e. for the camera.

    • DJBean Says:

      You’re so right. I definitely don’t think she’s fat. She’s got a rockin figure. It just has a lot of curve that can easily be misrepresented.

      Nice comment. Thanks!

      • Cuffs Says:

        Mooch needs a good padded bra and also needs to improve her slouching posture. Taking small steps would also help.

  10. spydra Says:

    “Obama premiers yet another piece from her halloween collection on The Tonight Show.”

    ROFLMAO @ YOU, LADY!!!

    too funny

  11. I don’t know (or care) enough about fashion to criticize anyone’s clothing choices, but reading Trease, Ni, and Darius’s classic comment and your response to it made it all worth it!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.